I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 155

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

L. F. Kasperbauer

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

Edward J.B. Calvo

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

Mark Forbes

R. Klitzkie

J. A. Lujan

R. J. Respicio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to observing May 15, 2006 as "Peace Officers Memorial Day" to honor those who have fallen in the line of duty, making the ultimate sacrifice in defense of the people of Guam.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, President John F. Kennedy made the first proclamation of "Peace Officers Memorial Day" in 1962, initiating a day when all citizens

3 honor members of the 'Thin Blue Line'; and

WHEREAS, "Peace Officers Memorial Day" is celebrated across the United States, from the largest cities to the quietest suburbs, and our island community joins the nation in saluting our men and women for their courage, commitment, and honor, risking their lives everyday protecting the lives and property of others; and

WHEREAS, peace officers fulfill a great calling in upholding the rule of law, knowing they have a dangerous job, often placing themselves in harm's way and making the ultimate sacrifice in defense of others, but readily accept these risks, demonstrating a willingness to help others and reflecting the best of Guam; and

WHEREAS, during Police Week, especially on "Peace Officers Memorial Day", our island pays tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty over the years and who have earned eternal respect and appreciation; and

WHEREAS, our island leaders fully support all law enforcement officers by providing the necessary tools and resources to protect the island community and to protect those who protect us; and

WHEREAS, our citizens have an interest in preventing crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers, volunteering as civilian police reserves, participating in public safety events, neighborhood watch partnerships, and preparing for emergencies as well as helping to secure our

homeland from the threat of terrorism; and 1

18

21

23

2 WHEREAS, we honor the memory and preserve the legacy of all those 3 who lost their lives to safeguard the lives of others by coming together to fight crime, protect our families, property, and neighborhoods; now, therefore, be it 4 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na 5 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 6 people of Guam, honor those who have fallen in the line of duty by displaying 7 the island's flags at half-staff; and be it further 8 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina' Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, 9 on behalf of the people of Guam, designate May 15, 2006, as "Peace Officer 10 Memorial Day"; and be it further 11 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 12 13 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the families of 14 those who have fallen in the line of duty: Police Officer I Francisco D. 15 16 Taitague; Police Officer I Juan M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes; Police Officer III Tomas M. Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias; 17

Police Officer I Manuel A. Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves; 19 Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos; Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki; 20

Police Reserve Officer Helen K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez;

Drug Enforcement Agency Special Agent Larry D. Wallace; Corrections

22 Officer Douglas W. Mashburn; United States Air Force Airman Laurie Lucas;

United States Air Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; to the Guam Police Department;

to the Guam International Airport Authority Airport Police; to the Port 24

- 1 Authority Police; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 2 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 21ST DAY OF APRIL 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature